Categories
Unclassified

Music and Postcards

The online exhibition 'Music and Postcards' will take place on Instagram from October 19 to November 12.

The Museum of Music continues to offer you exhibitions to discover from your home with this second exhibition of Moroccan postcards.

The postcard appeared at the end of the 19th century, a period when technical advances in reproduction, the development of education, and the creation in 1879 of the Universal Postal Union and its communication network, enabled its birth and success. The colonial postcard, of which this exhibition presents examples mostly dating from before 1956, is above all a constructed image: it represents a fantasised image of the country, an image of colonial representation conveyed by the authorities of the time, to the detriment of the local population (as one sometimes found confirmed in the texts written on the back of the postcards).

This exhibition also shows the messages written on the back of the postcards. This complicated period of lockdown and remoteness is the ideal time for the return of the postcard: it can now regain its role of connecting and its very existence helps during this period when work, social exchanges and cultural outings are all becoming less and less possible. Thus the solidarity movement, known as "les cartes vitales", gathers artists' postcards to "give meaning to our existence", an initiative launched during the Covid-19 crisis. It is therefore with a certain nostalgia that we look back to those messages sent in the last century, which brought the senders and their recipients closer together with tender thoughts, but which also served as a medium for more trivial messages, thus giving relevance and substance to these long-distance conversations.

The exhibition will finish on November 12th on Instagram, so don't forget to follow the Museum of Music on Instagram so you don't miss any of our exhibitions and news!

Categories
Unclassified

Hamid Al-Zahir, pioneer of popular music in Marrakech

The exhibition-playlist n°2, Hamid Al-Zahir, pioneer of popular music in Marrakech, has been on Youtube since October 12th.

Hamid Zahir (حميد الزاهر) or Hamid Ben Taher, was an oud player, a popular Moroccan singer, and an iconic figure in Marrakech singing. His musical playing was unique: he drew his inspiration from the musical heritage of his native city, namely the daqqa and gnaoua styles, to give his songs a festive air.

In the 1950s Hamid Zahir started producing his own songs. Recorded in the studios of the Sabah production company, songs such as "AwinAwin", "Rouah Li Bgha Yzour", and "Lila a Sidi Aâmara" quickly became big popular hits. These songs, which were copied by singers all over Morocco, paved the way for Marrakesh's musicians to achieve national success.

In the mid-70s, Hamid Zahir was already a national star. Songs such as the famous "Lalla Fatima" and "Ach Dak Tmchi Lzine" went beyond national borders, having success under such unexpected skies as Saudi Arabia and Kuwait. They earned the author a number of international tours that were to take him around the world, with concerts in places as far away as Japan and Australia.

Closer to home, Hamid Zahir also became the darling of the North African public. In Tunisia, where he frequently travelled, his success was such that he was decorated by the Tunisian president of the time, Habib Bourguiba. Visit the second playlist of the Museum of Music on Youtube - enjoy the discovery or re-discovery of this music!

To continue to be informed of new exhibitions-playlists, follow us on Instagram :

Categories
Unclassified

Hajja El Hamdaouia, diva of modern Aïta

The exhibition-playlist n°1 Hajja El Hamdaouia, diva of modern Aïta, can be listened to continously on Youtube since August 31.

Born in 1930 in a popular district of Casablanca, Hajja El Hamdaouia discovered music through her music-loving father. Her career began at the beginning of the 1950s, first in the theatre, and then quickly in music. After a political song in which she made fun of Ben Arafa ('Waili a chibani'), considered as an illegitimate substitute for Mohamed V, she went into exile in France where she was the first female artist to sing 'châabi' in Europe. She performed in various Parisian cabarets and rubbed shoulders with the North African artists of the time (Mohamed Fouiteh, Maurice Mimun, Samy Elmeghribi...).
She returned to Morocco after King Mohamed V's return to power in 1955 and performed at the prestigious Casablanca music hall, 'Le Coq d'or', alongside Salim Hilali.
The 80s and 90s were years of oblivion for her, but she made her big comeback in the 2000s, particularly in performances in France and Canada.

"I'm always moved when I see children or young people singing my songs, I tell myself that I've achieved something in my life, I think."

Hajja El Hamdaouia
Hajja El Hamdaouia vinyl sleeve

Hajja is particularly famous for having modernised the Aita Marsawiya, a political musical style (Aïta means 'call'), originating from the Greater Casablanca region and sung in Moroccan dialect. Hajja El Hamdaouia was the first to mix the popular music of the châabi with the Aïta and to incorporate modern instruments, thus participating in the 'urbanisation' of rural singing in the Atlantic region.
Her many encounters with the world of North African music, notably in Paris during her exile, also led her to excel in Mawal gharnati, Algerian and Tunisian songs, Judeo-Arabic and even Spanish flamenco. She can also be seen singing in the film 'Retrouver Oulad Moumen' by Izza Genini, where she performs 'Ma yiddishe mama'.
She accompanied her unique voice with the bendir and the taarija: she created her first orchestra in 1959 to perform this. Her songs, which cover many subjects - courteous and daring love, betrayal, family, domestic violence, resistance, love of her country - are all full of nostalgia and humour for the Moroccans who hum them.

Hajja El Hamdaouia vinyl sleeve

The career path of this artist, with her songs and clever, mischievous allusions, make Hajja El Hamdaouia 'the iconic figure who enabled women to find the words' for Rabah Mezzouane, music programmer at the Arab World Institute and music journalist.
n the 1950s, when people began to notice her, and she began to act in the theatre with Bachir Laalej's company, she was one of the first women in Moroccan theatre, for at that time even the roles of women were played by men. She defied her father, who initially refused to let her act, and almost disowned her. Hajja also played football and committed herself to her country against France.
Her life as a committed woman can be found in her songs, where she openly expresses her femininity, talks about sex and love, domestic violence, the resistance and her country.
This exceptional artist is to be discovered and rediscovered in the first playlist of the Musée de la Musique on Youtube - enjoy discovering or re-discovering this artist!

And to continue to be informed of new exhibitions-playlists, follow us on Instagram:

Categories
Unclassified

Musicians and Instruments of Africa

The first temporary exhibition of the Music Museum made with Afrikayna takes place from February 28, 2020 to February 28, 2021 (the exhibition is subject to an extension due to the Covid-19 crisis).

Exhibition poster

Through its geography and history, Morocco has been linked to both Andalusia and Africa.
The exhibition displays musical instruments and photographs which give the visitor a better understanding of the diversity of African music. There are four main categories of instruments: aerophones, membranophones, cordophones and idiophones.
In the West the first references to African music appeared in the 18th century. We present two 18th century engravings that show the European interest in these distant cultures.

Cordophones

This exhibition highlights the Museum of Music's vocation: to collect, understand and illustrate musical instruments, thus opening up understanding.


The Museum of Music has joined forces with partners who, like us, are concerned with transmitting and making known the music of Africa and Morocco. The Afrikayna association has worked closely with the Museum of Music in creating this exhibition.


The "Musicians and Instruments of Africa" exhibition was also the first "Online Exhibition" offered on Instagram.

Since the 2020 Covid crisis and lockdown, the Museum of Music has decided to offer exhibitions in different ways, even making them available from home.
To make sure you don't miss any of these exhibitions, don't forget to follow us on Instagram!

Catégories
Non classé

Musique et Cartes postales

L’exposition en ligne « Musiques et Cartes postales » a lieu sur Instagram du 19 octobre au 12 novembre.

Le Musée de la Musique continue de vous proposer des expositions à découvrir depuis chez vous avec pour cette deuxième exposition des cartes postales marocaines.

La carte postale apparait à la fin du XIXème siècle, période où les avancées techniques dans la reproduction, le développement de la scolarisation et la création en 1879 de l’Union Postale Universelle et de son réseau de communication permettent sa naissance et son succès. La carte postale coloniale, dont il est principalement le cas dans cette exposition présentant des exemples datant pour la plupart d’avant 1956, est avant tout une image construite : elle représente une image fantasmée du pays, empreinte des représentations coloniales véhiculées par les autorités de l’époque, au détriment des populations locales (que l’on retrouve parfois également dans les textes inscrits au dos des cartes postales). 

Cette exposition montre également les messages inscrits au dos des cartes imagées. La période compliquée du confinement et l’éloignement est le moment idéal pour le retour de la carte postale : elle peut ainsi retrouver son rôle de connexion et sa matérialité fait du bien pendant cette période où le travail, les échanges, les sorties culturelles sont dématérialisés. On trouve ainsi le mouvement solidaire « les cartes vitales » rassemblant des cartes postales d’artistes pour « redonner du sens à notre existence », initiative lancée pendant la crise du Covid-19. C’est donc avec une certaine nostalgie que l’on se replonge dans ces messages envoyés le siècle dernier qui rapprochaient les émetteurs et leurs destinataires par des pensées tendres mais également qui servaient de support aux messages plus triviaux, et donnaient ainsi une matérialité et un temps véritable à ces conversations longue distance. 

L’exposition sera complète le 12 novembre sur Instagram alors n’oubliez pas de suivre le Musée de la Musique sur Instagram pour ne rien rater de nos expositions et de notre actualité !

Catégories
Non classé

Hamid Al-Zahir, pionnier de la musique populaire à Marrakech

L’exposition-playlist n°2 Hamid Al-Zahir, le pionnier de la musique populaire à Marrakech est à découvrir depuis le 12 octobre sur Youtube.

Hamid Zahir (حميد الزاهر) ou Hamid Ben Taher pour l’état civil est un oudiste, un chanteur populaire marocain, et une figure emblématique de la chanson marrakchie. Son jeu musical est unique : il s’inspire du patrimoine musical de sa ville natale, à savoir les styles daqqa, et gnaoua pour donner à ses chansons un air de festivité.

Dans les années 50 Hamid Zahir commença à produire ses propres chansons. Enregistrés dans les studios de la maison de production Sabah, des morceaux comme “AwinAwin”, “Rouah Li Bgha Yzour”, “Lila a Sidi Aâmara” deviennent très vite de véritables tubes. Repris partout au Maroc, ils ouvrent aux musiciens deMarrakech la voie du succès national.

Au milieu des années 70, Hamid Zahir jouit déjà d’un statut de star nationale. Des chansons comme la fameuse “Lalla Fatima” et “Ach Dak Tmchi Lzine” transcendent même les frontières nationales, pour s’imposer sous des cieux aussi inattendus que l’Arabie Saoudite et le Koweït. Ils valent à leur auteur d’être sollicité pour des tournées internationales qui le mèneront aux quatre coins du globe,avec des concerts dans des contrées aussi éloignées que le Japon et l’Australie.

Plus près de chez nous, Hamid Zahir devient également la coqueluche du public maghrébin. En Tunisie, où il se déplace fréquemment, son succès est tel qu’il lui vaut d’être décoré par le président tunisien de l’époque, Habib Bourguiba.Visitez la deuxième playlist du Musée de la Musique sur Youtube, bonne découverte ou redécouverte !

Pour continuer à être informer des nouvelles expositions-playlists, suivez nous sur Instagram :

Catégories
Non classé

Hajja El Hamdaouia, diva de l’Aïta moderne

L’exposition-playlist n°1 Hajja El Hamdaouia, diva de l’Aïta moderne est à découvrir sans modération sur Youtube depuis le 31 août.

Née en 1930 dans un quartier populaire de Casablanca, Hajja El Hamdaouia découvre la musique par son père mélomane. Sa carrière commence au début des années 1950, dans le théâtre d’abord puis rapidement dans la musique. Après une chanson engagée où elle se moque de Ben Arafa (Waili a chibani), considéré comme illégitime remplaçant de Mohamed V, elle s’exile en France où elle est la première artiste féminine à chanter du châabi en Europe. Elle se produit dans divers cabarets parisiens et côtoie les artistes orientaux de l’époque (Mohamed Fouiteh, Maurice Mimun, Samy Elmeghribi…).
Elle rentre au Maroc après le retour au pouvoir du roi Mohamed V en 1955 et se produit au prestigieux music-hall casablancais le « Coq d’or » au côté de Salim Hilali.  
Les années 80 et 90 sont des années d’oubli mais la diva fait son grand retour dans les années 2000, se produisant notamment en France et au Canada.

« Je suis toujours émue quand je vois des enfants ou des jeunes chanter mes chansons, je me dis que j’ai réalisé quelque chose dans ma vie, je crois » 

Hajja El hamdaouia
Pochette de vinyle de Hajja El Hamdaouia

Elle est notamment célèbre pour avoir moderniser l’Aita Marsawiya, un style musical engagé (Aïta signifiant « appel »), originaire de la région du Grand Casablanca et chanté en dialecte marocain. Hajja El Hamdaouia est la première à mélanger le châabi, musique populaire, à l’Aïta et incorporer des instruments modernes, elle participe ainsi à « l’urbanisation » du chant rural des terroirs atlantiques.
Ses nombreuses rencontres avec le monde de la musique orientale, notamment à Paris pendant son exile, lui valent aussi d’exceller dans le Mawal gharnati, les chanson algériennes et tunisiennes, judéo arabes et même le flamenco espagnol. On peut la voir également chanter dans le film « Retrouver Oulad Moumen » de Izza Genini où elle interprète « Ma yiddishe mama ».
Elle accompagne sa voix unique du bendir et de la taarija, elle crée son premier orchestre en 1959 pour se produire. Ses chansons, qui reprennent de nombreux sujets : amour courtois et osé, trahison, famille, violences conjugales, résistance, amour de son pays… sont pleines de nostalgie et d’humour pour les marocains qui les fredonnent.

Pochette de vinyle de Hajja El Hamdaouia

La trajectoire de cette artiste, ses chansons et allusions fines et coquines font de Hajja El Hamdaouia « la figure emblématique qui permit aux femmes de retrouver la paroles » pour Rabah Mezzouane, programmateur musical de l’Institut du Monde Arabe et journaliste musical.
Dans les années 1950, quand elle se fait remarquer et commence à jouer au théâtre dans la troupe de Bachir Laalej, elle est l’une des premières femmes au théâtre au Maroc, puisqu’à l’époque même les rôles de femmes étaient joués par des hommes. Elle s’oppose à son père qui au départ refusait sa carrière et qui l’a quasiment reniée. Elle joue également au football et s’engage pour son pays contre la France. 
Cette vie de femme engagée se retrouve dans ces chansons où elle exprime ouvertement sa féminité, parle de sexe et d’amour, de violences conjugales, la résistance et son pays.
Cette artiste exceptionnelle est à découvrir et à redécouvrir dans la première playlist du Musée de la Musique sur Youtube, bonne découverte ou redécouverte !

Et pour continuer à être informer des nouvelles expositions-playlists, suivez nous sur Instagram :

Catégories
Non classé

Musiciens et Instruments d’Afrique

La première exposition temporaire du Musée de la Musique réalisée avec Afrikayna a lieu du 28 février 2020 au 28 février 2021 (l’exposition fait l’objet d’une prolongation due à la crise du Covid-19).

Affiche de l’exposition

Par sa géographie et son histoire, le Maroc est lié tant à l’Andalousie qu’à l’Afrique. 
L’exposition montre des instruments de musique et des photographies qui permettent de mieux comprendre la diversité de la musique africaine. Elle présente principalement 4 catégories d’instruments : les aérophones, les membranophones, les cordophones et les idiophones. 
En Occident les premières références à la musique d’Afrique sont présentes depuis le 18ème siècle. Nous présentons deux gravures du 18ème siècle qui montrent l’intérêt des Européens pour ces cultures lointaines. 

Les cordophones

Cette exposition souligne la vocation du Musée de la Musique : collecter, comprendre, illustrer les instruments de musique ouvrant ainsi la compréhension. 


Le Musée de la Musique s’associe aux partenaires qui comme nous ont la préoccupation de transmettre et de faire connaitre les musiques d’Afrique et du Maroc. L’association Afrikayna a travaillé étroitement avec le Musée de la Musique pour la réalisation de cette exposition.


L’exposition « Musiciens et Instruments d’Afrique » a également été la première « Exposition en ligne » proposée sur Instagram.

Depuis la crise 2020 et le confinement, le Musée de la Musique a décidé de proposer de nouvelles formes d’expositions disponibles même depuis chez soi.
Pour en rien rater de ces expositions, n’oubliez pas de nous suivre sur Instagram !